Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023

The Asia Cup, a prestigious cricket tournament held every two years in Asia, and it has captivated cricket enthusiasts since its inception in 1984. Organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), this tournament showcases the talent and competitive spirit of Asian cricketing nations.

In this article, we will delve into the rich history of the Asia Cup, highlighting the winners, runner-ups, and host countries from 1984 to 2023.

Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023

The Asia Cup has witnessed thrilling battles on the cricket field, with each edition leaving an indelible mark on the tournament’s legacy. Let’s take a closer look at the winners, runner-ups, and host countries for each edition of the Asia Cup from 1984 to 2022:

YearWinnerRunner UpHosting Nation
1984IndiaSri LankaUAE
1986Sri LankaPakistanSri Lanka
1988IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1991IndiaSri LankaIndia
1995IndiaSri LankaUAE
1997Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2000PakistanSri LankaBangladesh
2004Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2008Sri LankaIndiaPakistan
2010IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaPakistanBangladesh
2022Sri LankaPakistanUAE

Asia Cup Winners List Country-wise

Throughout the history of the Asia Cup, Team India has emerged as the most successful, clinching the title a record seven times out of the fifteen editions held so far. Sri Lanka closely follows with six victories, while Pakistan has secured the championship twice. However, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong are yet to taste victory in the Asia Cup.

Here is the country-wise list of Asia Cup winners:

  • India: 7 titles (1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018)
  • Sri Lanka: 6 titles (1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022)
  • Pakistan: 2 titles (2000, 2012)
  • Bangladesh: Yet to win
  • Afghanistan: Yet to win
  • Nepal: Yet to win

India’s dominance in the Asia Cup is a testament to their cricketing prowess in the region. Sri Lanka’s consistent success showcases their strong performance, making them a formidable team in the tournament. While Pakistan has had fewer victories, they have still managed to clinch the title twice, displaying their competitive spirit.

All about the Asia Cup 2023

The Asia Cup is a unique tournament that exclusively features countries from a single continent, making it the only one of its kind in the world. In terms of performance, India has been the most successful team in Asia Cup history, having emerged victorious on seven occasions.

India’s remarkable journey in the Asia Cup includes reaching the final stage ten times out of a total of fifteen finals, with one edition being skipped. Sri Lanka closely follows India’s success, with six Asia Cup victories, while Pakistan has secured the championship twice. Initially, the competition involved three countries, but over time it expanded to include six teams: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Afghanistan.

History of the Asia Cup

The inaugural Asia Cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, where the Asian Cricket Council’s offices were based until 1995. However, India boycotted the 1986 tournament due to strained cricketing relations with Sri Lanka. Similarly, Pakistan boycotted the 1990-91 tournament due to strained political relations with India, and the 1993 edition was canceled for the same reason. In 2009, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) announced that the tournament would be held biennially.


When was the Asia Cup first held?

The first Asia Cup was held in the United Arab Emirates in 1984 after the establishment of the Asian Cricket Council in the previous year.

Which team has won the most Asia Cup titles?

Team India has emerged as the most successful in the Asia Cup, winning the tournament a record seven times out of the fifteen editions held so far.

How many times has Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup?

Sri Lanka has won the Asia Cup six times.

Leave a Comment